I Wasn’t Lying When I Told You I’d Marry You In Niagara Falls

I WASN’T LYING
WHEN I TOLD YOU I’D
MARRY YOU IN NIAGARA FALLS

I wasn’t lying
When I told you I’d
Marry you in Niagara Falls.
Underneath Coca-Cola billboards,
And the weight of our anxieties.
An Elvis to serve as JP,
Hollowed out kisses,
And vows that quote the RAA.

I wasn’t lying
When I told you I’d
Have to cut you out at the root.
Sweat you away over
Blood orange Grandfathers.
Drop the rocks of my heart in the Georgian Bay,
Cedar pulled back from the stem of my aching spirit.

I wasn’t lying
When I told you I’d
Never understand my life without you in it.
Look twice
when I think I see you
walk into my empty pub;
Desolate prairie winter soul.

I wasn’t lying
when I told you I’d
marry you in Niagara Falls.
Because I never thought
you’d stop loving me.
I was wrong–
But I’ve been wrong before,
Like about being a shooting star,
Or Vancouver.

I want you on my skin,
staining me seven layers deep,
I want to see you on my arm,
In the mirror looking through me,
In our songs singing me back,
to that mattress on the floor
where I told you,
I’d marry you in Niagara Falls.

If you let me.

— tphillers

Leave a Reply

